Kozhan-Gorodok was first mentioned in 1493, but excavations revealed traces of human activity dating back to the 5th–7th centuries. Until 1793, it was part of the Polish–Lithuanian Commonwealth, later becoming part of the Russian Empire.
“Vidush Hill” (165 m) is a sacred hill near the village, on the southern side, not far from the confluence of the Tsna River with the Pripyat. According to local legends, the Roman poet Ovid lived and was buried here in exile.
The Nemirovich-Shchit estate (first half of the 18th century) — a wooden palace with a park and a court theatre. The palace burned down in the mid-19th century.
The synagogue, built in the 1880s, was one of the wealthiest in the region. It was burned down by the Nazi occupiers in 1942.
The main element of synagogue decoration: the Holy Ark (Aron ha-Kodesh), where the Torah scrolls are kept.
“Between the bimah and the Ark in Ashkenazi synagogues stands a special lectern (amud), at which the person leading the communal prayer stands.”
St. Nicholas Church — built as a Uniate church in 1818. It became known as the “Pisa Church” — none of its six domes stands vertically upright.